Posted by: kgnarlym | October 12, 2014

Practice With a Stranger

I went to a park nearby one of the studios I work at to pass some time before a staff meeting and happened upon a little old lady doing what looked to be taichi or qigong. I actually spotted her almost the instant I stepped out of my car and headed right toward her, in a very vague way! Haha!

I asked if I could join in, but with my camera bag slung over my shoulder it seemed that she thought I was asking to take pictures, so after some creative gesturing and sloppy attempts at using Chinese terms by yours truly, she was convinced to let me play along.

The excercises she lead me through were all familiar to me. The Eight Pieces of Brocade is a set of movements commonly practiced by taichi players and other martial artists as well.

She seemed pleased or impressed with me, but I didn’t have a good way to explain that I have known this particular set of excercises for many years, so with a couple thumbs up from her, a few smiles all around and some bows of grattitude we went our seperate ways.

It was a lot of fun to practice with someone else, even though we were complete strangers with no linguistic capacity to communicate.

Evidently, however, we both speak the language of Wellness!

Leave a Reply

Categories

