Posted by: kgnarlym | March 6, 2015

Repeat After Me

I’ve observed a strange phenomenon on Friday mornings…

but, before I elaborate, just a touch of context for y’all…

I teach a yoga class at 8:15 and it is followed by another class at 9:30. For several years now I have been in the habit (or discipline, or neurotic insistence) of attending the 9:30 class. It just makes sense, really. I’m awake and wearing clothes and already there. Might as well stay put! So this has become pretty much my only regular and consistent personal practice time. Seriously a major blessing to have the schedule that way.

Since I’ve been teaching the 8:15, there have been several different instructors for the 9:30 slot, from various backgrounds and each with their own unique style and approach.

Yet, each and every one of them, at one point or another (sometimes quite frequently) will use phrasing or a very specific idea that I use when I teach. I know that this kind of thing happens a lot, and I constantly catch myself borrowing certain phrases or ideas that some of my Teachers use. That is no big shocker because it’s words I’ve heard numerous times.

I find it interesting when I hear echoes of my own teaching style from these 9:30 teachers because none of them have ever been to my class.

I can think of three explanations for this:

1) It may be the case that there is still some leftover “vibe” from my class. Perhaps these instructors are tapping into the Collective Consciousness and just bumping into my ideas because of the immediate proximity (assuming Space has anything to do with that).

2) It may be the case that these instructors are just super awesome and are able to tell me exactly what I need to hear, in my own words, no less! You learn an awful lot about what kind of things you say when you hear it come from someone else’s mouth.

3) It may be the case that my dedication to this time slot for personal practice has built up enough Energy that it attracts instructors who really are meant for me. It sounds self-centered, I realize, but so the saying goes, “when the student is ready, the teacher will appear.”

More than likely all of these things, at one time or another, have contributed to this experience.

It’s definitely pretty cool, and it always feels good to hear another instructor deliver a very specific message you’re used to delivering. It reminds me that we’re really one big team, even though the commercialization and corporatization of yoga in these United States sometimes fragments us.

We’re all just walking each other home, afterall.

Now, repeat after me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

